I see SO MANY comedies SUPPOSEDLY aimed at grown ups.
Take any Chuck Lorre show. The Big Bang Theory, Two And A Half Men. Take
basically any comedy show on E4.
Now take Ren & Stimpy and Spongebob Squarepants. The jokes on those shows are SO MUCH smarter and funnier and just...
Like,
seriously, guys. Take some fucking lessons. Ren & Stimpy has a
SUPERHERO WHO LITERALLY CAN SAVE THE PRESIDENT FROM BAD GUYS but is more
concerned with DELIVERING POWDERED TOAST which is BASICALLY THE WORST
IDEA EVER.
Mr
Horse mulls a question over for a long-ass time and then says "I think
the President did... what the President had to do", which is the most
fucking dumb political soundbite you will ever hear EXCEPT THE ONES YOU
HEAR IN THE REAL WORLD.
Ren becomes a producer and then takes all the credit for Stimpy's work on a cartoon. IN A CARTOON. WITH AT LEAST ONE PRODUCER.
Cynical? Totally. Hilarious? YES.
A
family brings home a baboon and then takes it in turn to GET MAULED BY
THE BABOON, in the most casual, flippant, jovial fashion possible.
Because the guy at the pet shop told them that was how it should be and
they were too fucking dumb to go "hey... that doesn't sound OK..."
On
top of all that it's a show about an abusive relationship and about how
capitalists will ABUSE and EXPLOIT you for your last pennies.
That's the kind of shit other shows don't have the goddamn BALLS to talk about.
No comments:
Post a Comment